Few Fera survive the Embrace. Some of them linger on in agony for a time before death, but most die instantly and painlessly - many werewolves believe they are being spared of Wyrm's curse through the blessing of Gaia (if she still exists). A rare few, however, do not die. These beings become a cross between shifter and vampire: an "Abomination".

Garou Abominations are more common than Fera Abominations. Bastet Abominations constantly lose Gnosis until it runs dry. Gurahl Abominations are known as Umfalla, or "soul-dead", and are killed on sight by living Gurahl, though they may exist if not found by other Gurahl. Corax and Mokole Abominations used to die, no matter where they are, at the next sunrise; however, in the 7th Age with the Black Sun, this no longer occurs. With the death of Helios, both may become abominations. Mokole Abominations still go on a mindless rampage once created, but may regain control after their rage subsides. Nuwisha always die from an Embrace attempt. Ratkin can be embraced, but they rot like ordinary corpses and eventually fall over and stop moving.


Abominations do not lose the ability to shift between forms or use Primal Urge. They are not able to regenerate, healing only by spending blood points (as with any other vampire). While they still remember the gifts and rites they possessed before their Embrace, the spirit notoriety gained from such a state make it difficult for them to learn new gifts from familiar spirits. If they fall below 7 Ego, they can only affect Wyrm gifts and rites, and can only learn new gifts and rites from Banes. Abominations cannot increase their Gnosis trait at all. Abominations may still gain rank as normal, but if their Ego falls below 7, they may only gain rank as Wyrm creatures and slowly go mad as all those who serve the spiral do. Finally, they cannot spend points from different pools (Rage, Gnosis, or Blood) in the same turn. Abominations can learn and use Disciplines as usual for a vampire of their clan and generation.

Abominations also suffer from constant depression and psychological erosion. Their traits are halved in all challenges and they must spend a Willpower point to play any scene with a full trait category. They can never spend a Willpower point to gain a retest, and Abominations are never able to increase their Ego, Virtues, or permanent Willpower with experience points.

Ego Hierarchy of Sins

Below are listed the various actions which require an Ego roll to resist degeneration . The difficulty is the level being broken, though this can be raised or lowered by the Storyteller. Failure means that one level of Ego is lost. A challenge is only required for an action of the Abomination's Ego level or below. For instance, an Abomination with a seven Ego does not have to make a roll for teaching a Rite to a Kindred friend. The Virtues for Ego are Conscience, Instinct, and Courage. The starting Ego for an Abomination is equal to their Gnosis (or 10 if it is higher). Once an Abomination falls below 7 Ego, it reeks of the Wyrm and can only communicate and gain knowledge from Wyrm spirits, which eagerly teach it.

10 - Accidentally breaking a Litany law
9 - Purposefully breaking a Litany law; refusing a rightful challenge
8 - Refusing to acknowledge loss of a challenge (lack of instinct); teaching Rites or Gifts to Corruptor Wyrm minions
7 - Unjustly killing another Shifter; using vampiric mind-control powers (Dominate, Presence) against a Shifter; betraying a Shifter to the Corruptor Wyrm minions
6 - Binding or trafficking with spirits to evil purpose
5 - Destroying any natural place; causing a Blight to grow or fester
4 - Allying with Corruptor Wyrm minions
3 - Cannibalism (drinking the blood of a Shifter); sadism and perversion (Black Spiral virtues)
2 - Warring against any of the tribes
1 - Destroying a Caern