Getting Started F.A.Q.

Q: What exactly is The Seventh Age? 
A: The Seventh Age is a Live Action Role Playing game. A LARP is an interactive game in which the participants create a character and take on the role to portray that character. It is a mix between a game and a sort of improvisational theater, including costuming and props. The setting is based on the Classic World of Darkness by White Wolf.

Q: What is the classic World of Darkness?
A: The World of Darkness was a supernatural horror setting created in the 90's. The World of Darkness is similar to our world, but is much darker and more devious... and is inhabited by all manner of supernatural creatures. What differentiates the World of Darkness from other RPGs is that you play as the monsters. There are a LOT of books for the World of Darkness. We use White Wolf's Mind’s Eye Theater rule set, but there are several other source books (also called splat books) which are all available on DriveThruRPG.

Q: I'm not familiar with the whole World of Darkness. So, what kind of monster can I play?
A: Players can create characters who are Demons, Faeries, Mages, Mummies, Shapeshifters, or Vampires.

  • Demons are ancient spirits who created the cosmos, and rebelled against God for the sake of humanity. 
  • Fae are creatures of stories, legends, and fairy tales. They are dreams and nightmares given form.
  • Mages are humans with a spark of power which allows them to bend reality to their will. 
  • Mummies are immortal beings who strive to maintain balance in a chaotic universe.
  • Shifters, half-human/half-spirit were-creatures, have lost their battle to protect the natural world.
  • Vampires, undead cursed with insatiable hunger, spend immortality in an eternal struggle for power.

More about these can be found in the House Rules. In addition to these five creature types, there are many other types of beings in the World of Darkness which are NOT playable options, but may be encountered during the story: spirits, demons, ghosts, hunters. The rarest creatures in the seventh age... are humans.

Q: Can I play a normal human? A Hunter? Wraith? Kuei-Jin? Hsien? Hengeyokai?
A: Nope, just what's on the list above. Normal humans - those humans who are in no way supernatural - are an endangered species in the 7th Age. They exist only in a few very specific pockets of places, and are becoming more rare as the years go by. Most hunter societies were wiped out in the chaos of the end of the world, and those that might still be out there are extremely rare.
The exception to this are Kuei-Jin and Hengeyokai which will be allowed on a case-by-case basis. Gallain (Hsien, Nunnehi, Inanimae, Thallain, and so on), and Wraith are not currently playable genres, but may be reconsidered in the future. 

Q: What's the best thing to play?
A: "Best" is subjective. Vampire is a good starting point for beginners. Their power set is fairly linear and easy to learn. Shifters, like vampires, have a set of static powers, but they have some added complexity in their mechanics. Changeling and Mage are probably the more complex to play. They require a bit more creativity to use their powers, which demands a little more effort to fully understand their systems. 

Q: I've played (Vampire / Werewolf / Changeling / Mage) will it be like that? What makes 7th Age Different?
A: Not exactly the same. 7th Age is a court-based game, so it might bear some similarities to other games that deal with courtly intrigue, but it won't be exactly the same. As it is a mixed-genre game, there will be elements of each genre, without the games focusing heavily on any one of them. Many of the old ways are gone, and the various supernatural societies have been drastically changed.
Gehenna came. The vampire sects, the Camarilla and Sabbat, have disbanded. The Masquerade is a thing of the past, and Vampires rule openly.
The Ascension War shattered the mage factions. There is no Tradition Council, Technocratic Union, or global Consensus. Factions pursue their own view of Ascension. 
The Unseelie Court rules, and has driven the Seelie Court into the shadows. Banality is weakened, and Fae no longer have a human half. 
The Shifters failed to protect Gaia from the Apocalypse. The Wyrm is freed from its bindings, and bringing destruction upon the world.
The Abyss, the Fallen's prison, has been broken open, releasing countless demons of extraordinary power, but they must still anchor themselves in human flesh to resist its pull. 

Q: I don't know the system at all, does that matter?
A: No, the Storytellers and other players are friendly and will help walk you through things as they happen. We're also willing to help you figure out what you want to do, and help you figure out how it can be done. It would help to read the core LARP book of whatever genre you're playing, but it isn't required.

Q: How do I get started?
A: The first steps should be to email the Storytellers (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) to discuss your interest and a potential character concept with us. We can help you shape your concept to fit the world. If you don't have a concept yet, that's OK too. You can check out the House Rules, which has more information on the Setting. It also has a page to help you get started with Character Creation, along with information on the various Playable Races. In creating your character, it might be helpful to look at the Timeline and the Kingdoms to get a sense of the world. There is a lot of information here, so do not be afraid to ask questions if it is too daunting. Once you have your character made and approved, you can start playing it! Join our Facebook group (email the Storytellers for an invitation), where notice of events will be posted. Attending court is half of the equation. The other half is between-game Downtime activity. 

Q: I have more questions!
A: The storytelling crew is happy to answer any other questions you might have. Feel free to email us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..